Tears of London: Byrd, Tallis, White

Joel Suhubiette © L. Pascal

There are currently no dates available for this event.

Joël Suhubiette and the Ensemble Jacques Moderne are specimens in the English polyphonies of the time of Elizabeth I that seem cut to their measures.

The English music of the Elizabethan period is marked by a sovereign elegance, tinged with this modest melancholy that makes it unique. White, Tallis and Byrd bring an unspeakable emotional power to their sumptuous sound textures in their setting of Lamentations, Anthems and Motets.

English polyphony from the time of Elizabeth I.
White, Byrd, Tallis: Lamentations, motets and anthems

  • De Caelis: Treasures of the Middle Ages
  • Stabat Mater
  • Gesualdo: Leçons de Ténèbres
  • Monteverdi: livres de madrigaux
Page 1 / 1 1