Trusted Shops badge

Sunday Concerts: Berkeley Ensemble with Simon Callaghan

About the Event

To conclude our season, Conway Hall's Artistic Director of Music Simon Callaghan joins the Berkeley Ensemble in performing Elgar's only Piano Quintet, composed alongside his Violin Sonata and Cello Concerto. Before the break, the ensemble will feature English composer Dorothy Howell (1898‐1982), whose music is gaining well‐deserved attention, particularly in Leah Broad's new group biography, Quartet. The Berkeley Ensemble's recital programme will explore Howell's music within the context of her teachers at the Royal Academy of Music, Tobias Matthay and John Blackwood McEwen, as well as Edward Elgar, a significant figure of her generation whom Howell tended to in the Malvern Hills. Don't miss this wonderful selection of British music to mark the start of the Long Summer Break!

Tobias Matthay | Piano Quartet in C Op.20
Dorothy Howell | Adagio & Caprice
Dorothy Howell | Quartet in D minor
John Blackwood McEwen | Nugae, seven bagatelles for string quartet (selection)
Elgar | Piano Quintet in A minor Op.84

Cast / Production

Sophie Mather • violin
Francesca Barritt • violin
Dan Shilladay • viola
Gemma Wareham • cello
Simon Callaghan • piano

Gift card