Trusted Shops badge
  • © James Mollison
    © James Mollison

Summer Sounds at Schloss Grafenegg: Grafenegg Academy Orchestra

Grafenegg, Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 83

About the Event

The Grafenegg Academy Orchestra, conducted by Ilan Volkov, presents a captivating programme that seamlessly blends the old and the new. Through their performance, they unite different epochs and styles, creating a beautiful musical experience. One of the highlights is Johann Sebastian Bach's famous six‐voice Ricercar from the "Art of the Fugue." Bach's intricate composition pays tribute to a theme by Frederick the Great, and when orchestrated by Anton Webern, it shines brilliantly like a precious gemstone.

In addition, Johannes Brahms pays homage to the esteemed Joseph Haydn with his magnificent "Haydn Variations." This work showcases Brahms' mastery of composition and his deep admiration for Haydn's legacy. The programme also features Arnold Schoenberg's groundbreaking Chamber Symphony No. 1, which boldly announces a new era with its electrifying fanfare in fourths.

Adding a touch of modernity to the evening is percussion soloist Colin Currie, who showcases his virtuosity in Andrew Norman's "Switch" from 2015. This thrilling composition pushes Currie to his limits, creating an exhilarating finale to the performance. With a combination of classical masterpieces and contemporary works, this programme promises to be an unforgettable and exciting experience for all music lovers.

Practical Information

Concert starts at 20:00

For clients who have booked inclusive bus transfer:

Departure Vienna Musikverein, corner Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse: 240 minutes before the concert begins

Return from Grafenegg: approx. 15 minutes after the end of the concert

Journey time approx. 55 min


  • Johann Sebastian Bach – «Musikalisches Opfer» BWV 1079, Fuga (Ricercata) a 6 voci Nr. 5 (Bearbeitung für Orchester: Anton Webern)
  • Johannes Brahms – Variations on a Theme by Haydn for Orchestra in B flat major, op. 56a
  • Andrew Norman – «Switch» für Schlagwerk und Orchester
  • Arnold Schönberg – Kammersymphonie Nr. 1, op. 9
Program is subject to change


Conductor: Ilan Volkov

Ilan Volkov succeeded Osmo Vänskä as Chief Conductor of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in January 2003. He first conducted the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in 1998. As Chief Conductor of the BBC SSO he will conduct some 26 performances over 12 weeks each season, and will play an important role in the orchestra’s continuing commitment to contemporary music, as well as performing at key music festivals in the UK.

Orchestra: Grafenegg Academy Orchestra
Drums: Colin Currie


Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Grafenegg, Austria — Google Maps

Gift card