Trusted Shops badge
  • © David Venni
    © David Venni

Summer Sounds at Schloss Grafenegg: European Union Youth Orchestra

Grafenegg, Grafenegg Wolkenturm — Wolkenturm Open Air

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 105

About the Event

Tomorrow, we eagerly await the arrival of Father Christmas, at least in Ernst von Dohnányi's enchanting composition, "Variations on a Nursery Rhyme." This humble title belies the transformative power of the music, as the theme and its subsequent variations unfold in a delightful and clever display of musical gifts. It is a joyous celebration that captures the essence of Father Christmas himself.

Following this magical performance, we delve into Gustav Mahler's Symphony No. 1, a mesmerizing exploration of nature, art, irony, and pathos. Like a vibrant kaleidoscope, it weaves together various emotions and landscapes, creating a deeply moving and evocative experience. We are fortunate to have maestro Iván Fischer leading the European Union Youth Orchestra, as his skillful guidance ensures a perfect balance of exuberant energy and nuanced musicality from these talented young musicians.

Adding to the grandeur of the evening, we have the privilege of witnessing the exceptional talent of British pianist Isata Kanneh‐Mason, who takes on the piano part with her renowned artistry. Her interpretation enhances the performance, adding depth and brilliance to an already magnificent orchestral masterpiece. It is an unforgettable collaboration that will captivate the audience's hearts and minds.

In conclusion, this upcoming performance promises an evening filled with musical treasures. Both von Dohnányi's playful variations and Mahler's profound symphony offer a rich tapestry of emotions and artistry. With Iván Fischer leading the European Union Youth Orchestra and Isata Kanneh‐Mason at the piano, we can look forward to an extraordinary display of talent and a truly unforgettable experience.

Practical Information

Concert starts at 20:00

For clients who have booked inclusive bus transfer:

Departure Vienna Musikverein, corner Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse: 240 minutes before the concert begins

Return from Grafenegg: approx. 15 minutes after the end of the concert

Journey time approx. 55 min


  • Ernst von Dohnányi – Variationen über ein Kinderlied für Klavier und Orchester C‐Dur op. 25
  • Gustav Mahler – Symphonie Nr. 1 D‐Dur
Program is subject to change


Conductor, Violoncello da Spalla: Ivan Fischer

Ivan Fischer is one of the world's most sought‐after conductors. Chief Conductor of the Konzerthausorchester Berlin since the 2012/13 season, he was the founder of the Budapest Festival Orchestra in 1983, and he enjoys a close partnership with the Vienna State Opera. Ivan Fischer has won numerous awards, and he has performed in practically every major concert house in the world.

Orchestra: European Union Youth Orchestra

The history of the European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO) began in 1974 when the European Parliament’s Committee on Cultural Affairs and Youth laid the foundations of the orchestra. Their aim was to create a musical workshop where talented young European musicians could work together under the direction of internationally recognised great conductors to create productions to be performed each year in many cities of Europe.
With its realisation the European Union added to this goal that the orchestra should set an example of co‐operation with its work, demonstrating the achievement and creativity of European youth. The ensemble made its debut in 1978 under the direction of Claudio Abbado. Over the years leading conductors (Barenboim, Bernstein, Carlo Maria Giulini, Bernard Haitink, Karajan, Zubin Mehta, Rostropovich, Georg Solti) have worked with the orchestra. 140 young musicians are active in the EUYO. Each year more than four thousand young musicians aged between 14 and 23 apply to join the orchestra.

Piano: Isata Kanneh‐Mason


Grafenegg Wolkenturm, Grafenegg 10, Grafenegg, Austria — Google Maps

Gift card