Trusted Shops badge
  • (c) Ben Ealovega
    © Ben Ealovega

Philharmonia Orchestra London: James Ehnes plays Tchaikovsky

About the Event

London's treasured Southbank Centre will host a highly‐anticipated concert featuring classical music by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Claude Debussy, and Sergei Sergeyevich Prokofiev. The concert will showcase the melodic sounds of these renowned composers.

Tchaikovsky composed his captivating Violin Concerto during a holiday by Lake Geneva, hoping that a young student would premiere it. Tonight, the talented violinist James Ehnes will deliver a heartfelt performance of Tchaikovsky's masterpiece. The Guardian has praised Ehnes, stating that his previous performance with the Philharmonia reached a level of perfection, placing him in a league of his own.

Conductor Paavo Järvi, beloved by both musicians and audiences, will pair Tchaikovsky's concerto with Prokofiev's Sixth Symphony, written in 1947. Prokofiev explained that the symphony was his response to the devastation caused by World War II. The piece expresses the irreparable wounds that remain even after victory. However, a cheerful finale reminiscent of Prokofiev's Peter and the Wolf brings a sense of joy, featuring energetic string melodies, whistling woodwind, and bold timpani.

To open the concert, Järvi has selected Debussy's evocative and sensual composition, which transports listeners to a world of fantasy and pleasure with its dreamy flute melodies that seem improvised.

Originally, the concert was advertised with Daniil Trifonov performing Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 1. Unfortunately, due to visa processing delays, Trifonov's appearance has been rendered impossible. Nonetheless, the organizers are grateful to James Ehnes for stepping in. Trifonov will join the concert for Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 2 on Thursday, May 2, 2024, and tickets are currently available for purchase.

Gift card