Trusted Shops badge
  • (c) Jens Gerber
    © Jens Gerber

Organ Hour at Gewandhaus

Leipzig, Gewandhaus zu Leipzig — Grosser Saal

Seating plan Free seating Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 12

About the Event

Enjoy masterpieces of organ music with outstanding musicians in the unique atmosphere of the famous Gewandhaus Leipzig.

The Gewandhaus zu Leipzig, built in 1981 as home to the Gewandhausorchester, plays host to over 600 events and in excess of half a million visitors each year. The Gewandhaus stages around 250 classical concerts per season: Große Concerte with the Gewandhausorchester, chamber music, choral and organ concerts, music festivals and much more. The Gewandhaus‘s performance programme is complemented and enriched by a diverse range of music education and outreach activities and projects.
The phenomenal acoustic of the Great Hall has set a benchmark worldwide and must shy away from no comparisons with the world‘s newest concert halls. The sonic environment provided by the Great Hall was engineered to complement the considerable demands of the Gewandhausorchester. The steeply rising ‚vineyard‘ terraces offer perfect viewing from each of the Hall‘s 1,900 seats. The Mendelssohn Hall with its 498 seats offers a more intimate ambience for chamber music concerts. The Gewandhaus is the only concert hall to have been built during the GDR era.
Situated centrally, on Augustplatz, the Gewandhaus can be reached by foot quickly from any point in the city centre.


  • Johann Sebastian Bach – Präludium und Fuge f‐Moll BWV 534
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – Choralbearbeitungen
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig" BWV 618
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Christe, du Lamm Gottes" BWV 619
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Christus, der uns selig macht" BWV 620
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Da Jesus an dem Kreuze stund" BWV 621
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – O Mensch' bewein dein Sünde gross in Es, BWV 622
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Wir danken dir, Herr Jesu Christ" BWV 623
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Hilf Gott, daß mir's gelinge" BWV 624
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – Pedal‐Exercitium (Fragment) BWV 598
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – Präludium und Fuge c‐Moll BWV 546
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – Choralbearbeitungen
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Christ lag in Todesbanden" BWV 625
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Jesus Christus, unser Heiland" BWV 626
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Christ ist erstanden" BWV 627
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Erstanden ist der heilge Christ" BWV 628
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Erschienen ist der herrliche Tag" BWV 629
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – "Heut' triumphieret Gottes Sohn" BWV 630
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – Präludium und Fuge D‐Dur BWV 532
Program is subject to change


Organ player: Michael Schönheit


Gewandhaus zu Leipzig, Augustusplatz 8, Leipzig, Germany — Google Maps

Gift card