• (c) Camera Musicae SLU
  • (c) Palau de la Música Catalana (new)

La ‘Pastoral’ de Beethoven at Palau de la Musica Catalana

Barcelona, Palau de la Música Catalana — Main Hall

Best seats  Instant e-Ticket Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price

About the Event

In this highly‐anticipated concert, hear the mellifluous sounds of classical music by Beethoven, Mendelssohn Bartholdy and Haydn at Barcelona's treasured and world‐renowned Palau de la Música Catalana.

Nature at its best is the protagonist of this concert that will bring us closer to the essence of Viennese classicism. You will see the debut of the young Swiss cellist Nadège Rochat and we will be fortunate to have the conductor Thomas Rösner, chief conductor of the Beethoven Philharmonie in Vienna, a great expert in the works of the genius of Bonn.

Palau de la Música Catalana
The Palau de la Musica Catalana is a dazzling building situated in the northern part of Barcelona's Old Town. An architectural jewel of the Catalan Art Nouveau style, built between 1905 and 1908, its rich interior displays the work of the region's artisans in the form of stained‐glass windows, ceramics, sculptures, paintings and blacksmithing. The extensive use of glass in the construction of the venue creates stunningly radiant interiors. The dusty red facade of the Palau is decorated with busts of great composers including Bach, Beethoven and Wagner, and colorful mosaics in floral patterns.

The centre of the Palau is the magnificent concert hall, entirely lit by natural sunlight due to the extraordinary skylight in the centre of the richly ornate ceiling, which is popular for symphonic and chamber music. According to Lluís Domènech i Montaner, the architect who designed the Palau, the aim was to create a “garden for music” – an objective he definitely managed to achieve.


  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Felix – Overture "The Hebrides", Op. 26, "Fingal's Cave"
  • Haydn, Franz Joseph – Concerto for Cello and Orchestra no. 1 in C Major, Hob.VIIb:1
  • Beethoven, Ludwig van – Sinfonía nº. 6, op. 68 ‘Pastoral’
Program is subject to change


Orchestra: Franz Schubert Filharmonia
Cello: Rochat, Nadège
Conductor: Rösner, Thomas


Palau de la Música Catalana, c/ Palau de la Música, 4‐6, Barcelona, Spain — Google Maps

Gift card