Trusted Shops badge
  • (c) Marco Borggreve
    © Marco Borggreve
  • (c) Julia Wesely
    © Julia Wesely

Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Michael Sanderling with Elisabeth Leonskaja

About the Event

In this highly‐anticipated concert, hear the mellifluous sounds of classical music by Johannes Brahms and Robert Schumann at Berlin's treasured and world‐renowned Konzerthaus Berlin.

At the age of 23, deeply influenced by Clara and Robert Schumann, Johannes Brahms began composing his first piano concerto. He toyed with the idea of reworking it into a symphony, but ultimately decided on an avant‐garde instrumental concerto. Despite this innovation, the work was not well received at its premiere in Leipzig in 1859. But time would do this work justice. Brahms himself sat at the piano for the premiere of his Second Piano Concerto in Budapest, and it became an immediate success.

In our Great Hall, Elisabeth Leonskaja presents both the First and Second Piano Concertos as part of her tribute, each paired with Robert Schumann's Fourth Symphony. If you can't decide or would like to experience both, we invite you to join the Konzerthausorchester Berlin conducted by Michael Sanderling and the soloist on both evenings!

Gift card