Trusted Shops badge
  • (c) Ko-Cheng Lin
    © Ko‐Cheng Lin

Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Juraj Valčuha & Iveta Apkalna

Berlin, Konzerthaus Berlin — Großer Saal

Best seats  2 h 30 min Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 67

About the Event

Experience the enchanting melodies of classical music by Jean Sibelius, Dmitri Dmitriyevich Shostakovich, and Bernd Richard Deutsch in this highly‐anticipated concert at Berlin's treasured Konzerthaus.

As the season comes to a close, the Konzerthausorchester takes you on a journey through the vastness of the ocean. Jean Sibelius dedicated his composition "Okeanides" in 1914 to the daughters of the Greek sea god Okeanos and Tethys. To conclude her third and final season as organist‐in‐residence, Iveta Apkalna showcases her exceptional talent alongside the Konzerthausorchester, conducted by Juraj Valčuha, in Bernd Richard Deutsch's organ concerto "Okéanos," which embodies the idea of immense grandeur and the boundless expanse of both the organ and the world.

The season started with Prokofiev, Weill, and Mahler's first symphonies, and it fittingly ends with Shostakovich's First Symphony. Written when he was only 19 as his final project for the Leningrad Conservatory, this piece showcases the young composer's originality and brilliance. At its premiere in 1926, Shostakovich's work, filled with wit and irony that hadn't yet developed the sharpness and horror of his later compositions, received great acclaim and celebration.


  • Jean Sibelius – „Die Okeaniden“ — Tondichtung op. 73
  • Bernd Richard Deutsch – Okeanos – Konzert für Orgel und Orchester
  • Dmitri Dmitriyevich Shostakovich – Sinfonie Nr. 1 f‐Moll op. 10
Program is subject to change


Conductor: Juraj Valčuha
Organ player: Iveta Apkalna


Konzerthaus Berlin, Gendarmenmarkt, Berlin, Germany — Google Maps

Gift card