Trusted Shops badge
  • (c) Martin Walz
    © Martin Walz

Konzerthaus Berlin: Joana Mallwitz and Gautier Capuçon

Berlin, Konzerthaus Berlin — Großer Saal

Best seats  2 h 30 min Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 79

About the Event

Get ready to be enthralled as the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, led by its principal conductor Joana Mallwitz, opens the concert with the exhilarating symphonic poem 'Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche' (Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks) by Richard Strauss. This masterfully orchestrated piece takes its listeners on a musical journey through the ups and downs of the mischievous hero's life, blending both whimsy and poetic beauty.

Joseph Haydn holds an indispensable place in the cello repertoire, and it is astonishing to think that his renowned virtuosic C major concerto was only rediscovered in Prague in 1961, long after it was believed to be lost forever. The esteemed French virtuoso Gautier Capuçon will grace the stage to interpret this beloved concerto, showcasing his exceptional talent and artistry.

In addition to these captivating works, the program will also feature one of Haydn's symphonies affectionately nicknamed 'The Bear' and a contemporary exploration of the composer's genius by Peter Ruzicka. This concert promises to be an extraordinary fusion of classical masterpieces and thought‐provoking contemporary compositions, curated to captivate and inspire audiences of all backgrounds.


  • Richard Strauss – „Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche“ — Sinfonische Dichtung op. 28
  • Franz Joseph Haydn – Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester C‐Dur Hob VIIb:1
  • Peter Ruzicka – „Metamorphosen über ein Klangfeld von Joseph Haydn“ für großes Orchester
  • Joseph Haydn – Sinfonie Nr. 82 C‐Dur Hob I:82 („L'Ours“)
Program is subject to change


Cello: Gautier Capuçon

Gautier Capuçon has dedicated himself to the cello since he was only five years old, and is particularly enthusiastic about chamber music making. He records a great deal with his brother, renowned violinist Renaud Capuçon, and collaborates with numerous other celebrated artists such as Marta Argerich, Daniel Barenboim, Leonidas Kavakos, Mikhail Pletnev, Vadim Repin, Jean‐Yves Thibaudet, Maxim Vengerov, etc.

Conductor: Joana Mallwitz


Konzerthaus Berlin, Gendarmenmarkt, Berlin, Germany — Google Maps

Gift card