Trusted Shops badge
  • © De Waalse Kerk
    © De Waalse Kerk

Ivo Boytchev: Liszt's Via Crucis

Amsterdam, De Waalse Kerk

Free seating  Instant e-Ticket Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 30

About the Event

Ivo Boychev, in this program, performs music that has a profound personal connection to him. The rarely performed Via Crucis in the solo piano version holds immense significance as it musically portrays the 14 stations of Christ's Way of the Cross with unparalleled depth. Through minimalist means, Liszt skillfully creates a sense of loneliness and pain that is almost tangible. Following the intermission, Boychev will present three works where Liszt skillfully combines religious sentiment and pure beauty with great virtuosity and visual imagination.

Liszt, a renowned Romantic composer from Hungary, was not only an exceptional pianist but also composed famous pieces such as the Hungarian Rhapsody. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest piano virtuosos of all time. Furthermore, he excelled as a piano teacher, a music reformer, and an innovator. While Liszt decided to conclude his concert career in 1847, he continued to modestly engage as a composer and conductor until 1870. During his later years, Liszt focused on composing more religious works, with the Via Crucis assuming a particularly pivotal role.

Practical Information

The Bösendorfer Series is a series of intimate piano recitals in which nine top pianists shine behind our Bösendorfer Imperial Grand grand piano. The Bösendorfer Series is made possible in part by Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.


  • Franz Liszt – Via crucis
  • Franz Liszt – Harmonies poétiques et religieuses: Nr 3. Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude
  • Franz Liszt – Légendes: 1. St. Francois d’Assise – La prédication aux oisaux; 2. St. Françoi de Paule — Marchant sur les flots
Program is subject to change


Piano: Ivo Boytchev


De Waalse Kerk, Walenpleintje 159, Amsterdam, Netherlands — Google Maps

Gift card