Trusted Shops badge
  • © Daniel Waldhecker
    © Daniel Waldhecker

Hope — Vogler — Deutsches Symphonie‐Orchester Berlin, Rakitina at Frauenkirche Dresden

Dresden, Frauenkirche Dresden — Main Hall

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 93

About the Event

For a unique concert evening, two exceptional musicians will come together: Daniel Hope, the violinist and artistic director of the Frauenkirche, and Jan Vogler, the cellist and intendant of the Musikfestspiele. Their performance will be accompanied by the Deutsches Symphonie‐Orchester (DSO) Berlin, conducted by the extraordinary Anna Rakitina. Rakitina, born in Moscow in 1989, is one of the most captivating conductors of the younger generation.

The concert will begin with a focus on renowned film scores and their composers. The centerpiece of this segment will be the highly romantic Sinfonia concertante for violin and cello, composed by Miklós Rózsa. Rózsa is famous for his scores in cinematic classics such as "Quo vadis?" and "El Cid." Written alongside his well‐known score for "Ben Hur," this work carries the same epic spirit and features musical allusions to his Hungarian homeland.

In the second part of the concert, the orchestra, led by Rakitina, will immerse themselves in Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5. This symphony is well‐known and greatly admired in concert halls around the world, showcasing Tchaikovsky's musical mastery.

By bringing together these exceptional musicians and paying homage to both film music and classical repertoire, this concert promises to be an unforgettable and extraordinary experience for all in attendance.


  • Florence Price – »Adoration« (arranged for string orchestra)
  • Miklós Rózsa – Prelude and Love Theme from »Spellbound« (arranged for violin and orchestra)
  • John Williams – Theme from »Schindler’s List« (arranged for cello and orchestra)
  • Miklós Rózsa – Sinfonia concertante for Violin, Cello and Orchestra Op. 29
  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 5 in E minor, op. 64
Program is subject to change


Orchestra: Deutsches Symphonie‐Orchester

The Deutsches Symphonie‐Orchester Berlin is an orchestra based in Berlin, Germany. It was founded in 1946 by American occupation forces as the RIAS‐Symphonie‐Orchester (RIAS being an acronym for "Rundfunk im amerikanischen Sektor" / "Radio In the American Sector"). It was also known as the American Sector Symphony Orchestra. The first principal conductor was Ferenc Fricsay. In 1956 the orchestra was renamed the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra (Radio‐Symphonie‐Orchester Berlin). In 1993 the orchestra took on its present name.

Violin: Daniel Hope

Five times the winner of the ECHO Klassik Prize, British violinist Daniel Hope has performed as soloist with some of the world's most distinguished orchestras and conductors. He is the winner of the Classical Brit Award, and has been nominated four times for a Grammy award.

A recent New York Times review summarized Daniel Hope as “a violinist of probing intellect and commanding style,” and continued: “In a business that likes tidy boxes drawn around its commodities, the British violinist Daniel Hope resists categorization. Mr. Hope, a compelling performer whose work involves standard repertory, new music, raga, and jazz, emphasizes thoughtful engagement over flamboyant display. In his most personal undertakings, he puts classical works within a broader context – not just among other styles and genres but amid history, literature, and drama – to emphasize music’s role as a mirror for struggle and aspiration.” Daniel Hope performs on the 1742 “ex‐Lipin´ski” Guarneri del Gesù violin.

Cello: Jan Vogler
Conductor: Anna Rakitina


Frauenkirche Dresden, Neumarkt, Dresden, Germany — Google Maps

Gift card