Trusted Shops badge
  • © Sam Dopona
    © Sam Dopona

Grafenegg Festival: Tonkünstler‐Orchester, Ruth Brauer‐Kvam

Grafenegg, Schloss Grafenegg — Auditorium

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 112

About the Event

Anne Frank, whose tragic fate has been widely recognized, remains one of the most well‐known victims of the Holocaust. Through the poignant and personal accounts in her diary, she provides a human face to the enormous number of individuals who lost their lives during this horrific period. Conveying the emotional power of her words, Michael Tilson Thomas has crafted a musical composition featuring selected excerpts from her diary, accompanied by an orchestra. In the Austrian premiere of this composition, the role of the narrator is filled by Ruth Brauer‐Kvam. Adding to the profound atmosphere of the performance, the program also includes Samuel Barber's renowned "Adagio for Strings." Originally composed as the slow movement of a string quartet on the eve of World War II, this haunting piece of funereal music was created in St. Wolfgang, located in the Salzkammergut region. Lawrence Foster, together with the Tonkunstler, skillfully balances the deeply moving first half of the concert with Ludwig van Beethoven's Eighth Symphony. Known for its lighthearted and playful tone, Beethoven's Eighth Symphony challenges traditional expectations, offering a unique and ambiguous musical experience.

Practical Information

For clients who have booked inclusive bus transfer:

Departure Vienna Musikverein, corner Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse: 90 minutes before the concert begins

Return from Grafenegg: approx. 15 minutes after the end of the concert

Journey time approx. 55 min


  • Samuel Barber – Adagio aus dem Streichquartett op. 11 (Bearbeitung für Streichorchester)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphonie Nr. 8 F‐Dur op. 93
  • Michael Tilson Thomas – «Aus dem Tagebuch der Anne Frank»
Program is subject to change


Soloist, Conductor: Lawrence Foster

Lawrence Foster is one of the few successful American conductors to win acclaim on both sides of the Atlantic. Now in his fourth season as Music Director of the Gulbenkian Orchestra, he has held similar posts with Barcelona Symphony Orchestra, Aspen Music Festival and School, Monte Carlo Philharmonic, the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, Houston Symphony Orchestra and Lausanne Chamber Orchestra. He also served as Artistic Director of the Georg Enescu Festival from 1998 to 2001.

Orchestra: Tonkünstler‐Orchester Niederösterreich

The Tonkünstler‐Orchester Niederösterreich is an Austrian orchestra based in Vienna and St. Pölten, Lower Austria.

Narrator: Ruth Brauer‐Kvam


Schloss Grafenegg, Grafenegg 10, Grafenegg, Austria — Google Maps

Gift card