Trusted Shops badge
  • ©  Harald Hoffmann
    © Harald Hoffmann

Grafenegg Festival: Tonkünstler‐Orchester, Enno Poppe

Grafenegg, Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 147

About the Event

Is contemporary music truly unsingable? In a poetic fragment by Friedrich Hölderlin, quoted by Georg Friedrich Haas in relation to his orchestral composition "Natures mortes," the notion of singing becomes an intriguing prospect. Haas, in his work, aims to reinvent and explore something akin to singing through the combination of distinct chordal overtones and rhythmic patterns inspired by the art of Roy Lichtenstein. His tenure as Composer in Residence in 2022 at Grafenegg left a lasting impression on the collective memory, with his "Parkmusik für Grafenegg." Now, under the direction of Enno Poppe, the Composer in Residence for 2024, the Tonkunstler Orchestra delivers electrifying new music. Appropriately, they also present the Austrian premiere of Poppe's latest orchestral masterpiece, "Strom."

Practical Information

For clients who have booked inclusive bus transfer:

Departure Vienna Musikverein, corner Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse: 165 minutes minutes before the concert begins

Return from Grafenegg: approx. 15 minutes after the end of the concert

Journey time approx. 55 min


  • Georg Friedrich Haas – «Natures mortes»
  • Luigi Nono – «La fabbrica illuminata» für Sopran und Tonband
  • Enno Poppe – «Strom» (Co‐commission von ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln und Grafenegg Festival)
Program is subject to change


Orchestra: Tonkünstler‐Orchester Niederösterreich

The Tonkünstler‐Orchester Niederösterreich is an Austrian orchestra based in Vienna and St. Pölten, Lower Austria.

Conductor: Enno Poppe
Soprano: Sarah Maria Sun
Staging: Germán Toro‐Pérez


Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Grafenegg, Austria — Google Maps

Gift card