Trusted Shops badge
  • © Oliver Killig
    © Oliver Killig

Grafenegg Festival: Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden, Rudolf Buchbinder

Grafenegg, Grafenegg Wolkenturm — Wolkenturm Open Air

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 199

About the Event

Myths have long been used by our ancestors as a means to comprehend the world around them. These stories, filled with wonder and danger, helped to make sense of a world that was both livable and loveable, yet also mysterious and hostile. One such myth centers around Prometheus, who defied the will of Zeus by creating humans and gifting them with fire. However, this act of defiance resulted in a terrible punishment. Ludwig van Beethoven, in his ballet, celebrated the heroic deed of Prometheus, while his Fourth Piano Concerto is believed to be inspired by the legend of Orpheus. In the middle movement of the concerto, the piano pleads for the release of Eurydice from the underworld. Similarly, Robert Schumann's Symphony in D minor conveys a sense of myth unfolding from misty veils, gradually revealing itself before the triumphant finale. Rudolf Buchbinder, accompanied by the Staatskapelle Dresden under the baton of Daniele Gatti, ensures that the fire of Prometheus blazes throughout these performances.

With a reputation for its distinctive atmosphere, Schloss Grafenegg has been hosting events for over three decades. Its cultural program consistently draws thousands of visitors each year, and Advent in Grafenegg has become a cherished tradition in Lower Austria. Building upon this rich history, the estate is embarking on an ambitious endeavor to establish itself as a globally renowned cultural center. As part of this project, plans are underway to create an open‐air stage and a new concert hall, expanding the space available for Schloss Grafenegg to further enrich its cultural offerings. By forging ahead with these developments, the estate aims to solidify its position as a truly exceptional international cultural destination.

Practical Information

For clients who have booked inclusive bus transfer:

Departure Vienna Musikverein, corner Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse: 240 minutes before the concert begins

Return from Grafenegg: approx. 15 minutes after the end of the concert

Journey time approx. 55 min


  • Ludwig van Beethoven – Ouvertüre zum Ballett 'Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus op. 43
  • Ludwig van Beethoven – Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 4 G‐Dur op. 58
  • Robert Schumann – Symphonie Nr. 4 in d‐Moll op. 120
Program is subject to change


Conductor: Daniele Gatti

Daniele Gatti has been the Music Director of the Orchestre National de France since September 2008, succeeding Kurt Masur. He has also been the Principal Conductor of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra since 1996, and he will remain there as a conductor laureate from September. From 1992 to 1997, he was the Principal Conductor of the Orchestra dell‘Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, the Principal Guest Conductor at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden from 1994 to 1997, and between 1997 and 2007 he was the Music Director of the Teatro Comunale di Bologna. Daniele Gatti is a holder of the title of Accademico, granted by the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia. In 2005, the Italian Association of Music Critics awarded him their Premio Abbiati prize.

Soloist, Conductor, Piano: Rudolf Buchbinder

Pianist Rudolf Buchbinder, with five years of age the youngest student ever to be admitted to the Vienna Musik Hochschule, began his comprehensive musical career as chamber musician. In the meantime, he performed as soloist with all great orchestras and conductors all over the world and is regular guest at the Salzburger Festspiele and all other major festivals.

Orchestra: Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden


Grafenegg Wolkenturm, Grafenegg 10, Grafenegg, Austria — Google Maps

Gift card