Trusted Shops badge
  • © Nikolaj Lund
    © Nikolaj Lund

Grafenegg Festival: Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Antonello Manacorda

Grafenegg, Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 169

About the Event

Antonín Dvořák's Ninth Symphony, known as the "From the New World," goes beyond mere academic analysis to explore the interconnectedness of various musical traditions. This symphony effortlessly blends spirituals, Native American dances, and Bohemian folk music with the timeless genre of the European symphony. Dvořák's creative prowess transcends borders and celebrates shared experiences instead of emphasizing differences. The enduring popularity of its melodies, often hummed by proverbial sparrows, is a testament to its universal appeal.

In a similar vein, Ariel Lanyi, the winner of the prestigious "Prix Serdang" 2023 piano award presented by Rudolf Buchbinder, mesmerizes audiences with his interpretation of Mozart's Piano Concerto KV 488. Lanyi's virtuosity and intuitive musicality shine through as he masterfully brings out the nuances and beauty of this classical masterpiece. His performance showcases the timeless nature of Mozart's music, resonating with audiences today as it did centuries ago.

Both Dvořák's Ninth Symphony and Lanyi's rendition of Mozart's Piano Concerto KV 488 exemplify the power of music to bridge cultural divides and evoke emotions that are universally relatable. These works serve as a testament to the transcendental nature of art, uniting people from different backgrounds through shared moments of aesthetic appreciation.

Practical Information

For clients who have booked inclusive bus transfer:

Departure Vienna Musikverein, corner Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse: 255 minutes before the concert begins

Return from Grafenegg: approx. 15 minutes after the end of the concert

Journey time approx. 55 min


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Konzert für Klavier und Orchester A‐Dur KV 488
  • Antonín Dvořák – Symphonie Nr. 9 e‐Moll op. 95 «Aus der Neuen Welt»
Program is subject to change


Orchestra, Piano: Mahler Chamber Orchestra

The Mahler Chamber Orchestra was founded in 1997 on the initiative of Claudio Abbado and a group of musicians from the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra who wished to continue to play together even after reaching the youth orchestra's age limit. The combined principles of artistic curiosity and the broadest possible spectrum of repertoire, both at the highest possible musical level, guided the ambitious ensemble in its founding and continue to shape its work today. The ensemble’s repertoire reaches from baroque to contemporary and includes everything from chamber music to symphonic programming, from operatic standards to world premieres.

Conductor: Antonello Manacorda
Piano: Ariel Lanyi


Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Grafenegg, Austria — Google Maps

Gift card