Trusted Shops badge
  • © Stefano Guindani
    © Stefano Guindani

Grafenegg Festival: Filarmonica della Scala, Riccardo Chailly

Grafenegg, Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 189

About the Event

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's Fifth Symphony holds a place of great significance among his three major symphonies. It portrays a tumultuous journey through life, filled with the hustle and bustle of daily existence as well as moments of solace found in nature. However, this symphony is not without its turbulent moments, as it reflects a constant threat of intense self‐doubt. The underlying motif of melancholy and somber tones resonates throughout all four movements, akin to a mid‐life crisis mirrored in music.

Yet, it is in the finale where Tchaikovsky truly triumphs, managing to transform the overall mood into a positive one. With a triumphantly cathartic musical expression, he delivers an almost euphoric experience, dispelling the shadows of doubt and embracing a newfound optimistic outlook on life. This turning point serves as a testament to the power of music to uplift and inspire.

Accompanying Tchaikovsky's masterpiece is Edvard Grieg's widely beloved Piano Concerto. Revered for its heartfelt poetry and evocative references to the enchanting landscapes and folk music of Grieg's native Norway, it stands as a testament to the beauty and diversity of the human experience. The Piano Concerto not only showcases the virtuosity of the pianist but also demonstrates exquisite symphonic writing, blending the two elements seamlessly.

Together, these two works by Tchaikovsky and Grieg offer a captivating musical experience. Through their compositions, they explore the complexities of life, navigating its highs and lows with remarkable artistry and emotional depth. The Fifth Symphony and the Piano Concerto provide a balance of introspection, celebration, and profound artistic expression, leaving a lasting impact on listeners.

Practical Information

For clients who have booked inclusive bus transfer:

Departure Vienna Musikverein, corner Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse: 255 minutes minutes before the concert begins

Return from Grafenegg: approx. 15 minutes after the end of the concert

Journey time approx. 55 min


  • Edvard Grieg – Konzert für Klavier und Orchester a‐Moll op. 16
  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Symphonie Nr. 5 e‐moll op. 64
  • Luciano Berio – Quatre Dédicaces
Program is subject to change


Conductor: Riccardo Chailly
Soloist, Conductor, Piano: Rudolf Buchbinder

Pianist Rudolf Buchbinder, with five years of age the youngest student ever to be admitted to the Vienna Musik Hochschule, began his comprehensive musical career as chamber musician. In the meantime, he performed as soloist with all great orchestras and conductors all over the world and is regular guest at the Salzburger Festspiele and all other major festivals.

Orchestra: Filarmonica della Scala


Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Grafenegg, Austria — Google Maps

Gift card