Trusted Shops badge
  • © Takashi Iijima
    © Takashi Iijima

Grafenegg Festival: Festival Opening at Schloss Grafenegg

Grafenegg, Grafenegg Wolkenturm — Wolkenturm Open Air

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 199

About the Event

Is this still a classical concert? Perhaps it's also jazz! In 1925, George Gershwin, after the success of his "Rhapsody in Blue," was commissioned to write a piano concerto in a more traditional style. This marked his entry into the ranks of America's most important composers. The Concerto in F, one of the key works of the 20th century, will open the Grafenegg Festival with Artistic Director Rudolf Buchbinder on the piano, the Tonkunstler Orchestra, and Music Director Yutaka Sado on the podium. It promises to dazzle the audience at Wolkenturm.

Equally exciting is the opportunity to hear Arnold Schoenberg's "Pelleas and Melisande," a large orchestral work by the avant‐garde composer, for the first time at Grafenegg. This symphonic poem, with its impressive atmospheric and natural imagery, follows in the tradition of Richard Strauss' monumental "Alpine Symphony" in terms of instrumentation and passionate adherence to late Romantic tonal opulence. Today, Schoenberg's Opus 5 is one of the most frequently performed works by this future twelve‐tone composer and adds a poignant tragedy of forbidden love to the program.

Schloss Grafenegg, known for its unique atmosphere, has been hosting events for over 30 years. Its cultural program attracts thousands of visitors annually, with Advent in Grafenegg becoming a beloved fixture in Lower Austria. Building on this rich history, the estate is embarking on an ambitious cultural project to establish itself as a truly exceptional international cultural center. Plans include the creation of an open‐air stage and a new concert hall, providing the necessary space for Schloss Grafenegg to further expand its cultural offerings.

Practical Information

For clients who have booked inclusive bus transfer:

Departure Vienna Musikverein, corner Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse: 120 minutes before the concert begins

Return from Grafenegg: approx. 15 minutes after the end of the concert

Journey time approx. 55 min


  • George Gershwin – Konzert für Klavier und Orchester in F
  • Arnold Schönberg – Pelléas et Mélisande, poème symphonique, op. 5
Program is subject to change


Soloist, Conductor: Yutaka Sado
Orchestra: Tonkünstler‐Orchester Niederösterreich

The Tonkünstler‐Orchester Niederösterreich is an Austrian orchestra based in Vienna and St. Pölten, Lower Austria.

Soloist, Conductor, Piano: Rudolf Buchbinder

Pianist Rudolf Buchbinder, with five years of age the youngest student ever to be admitted to the Vienna Musik Hochschule, began his comprehensive musical career as chamber musician. In the meantime, he performed as soloist with all great orchestras and conductors all over the world and is regular guest at the Salzburger Festspiele and all other major festivals.


Grafenegg Wolkenturm, Grafenegg 10, Grafenegg, Austria — Google Maps

Gift card