Trusted Shops badge
  • © Christoph Köstlin Deutsche Grammophon
    © Christoph Köstlin Deutsche Grammophon

Grafenegg Festival: Andrè Schuen, Daniel Heide

Grafenegg, Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 128

About the Event

Andrè Schuen is renowned for his exceptional talent in both opera and song interpretation within the classical music realm. Teaming up with his piano partner, Daniel Heide, their performance centers on the remarkable works of Johannes Brahms and Gustav Mahler. This emotionally charged programme presents Brahms' late composition, the "Four Serious Songs," where he confronts the inevitable reality of death amidst the loss of loved ones and his own impending end. In the face of such tribulations, Brahms finds solace in the profound power of love, which emerges as the only force that surpasses all. Mahler's songs, rooted in texts from "Des Knaben Wunderhorn," resonate with a similar sentiment as he skillfully delves into the realm of folk music, extracting its deepest truths and wisdom. Schuen and Heide skillfully navigate through these masterpieces, creating an enthralling and captivating experience for their audience.

Practical Information

For clients who have booked inclusive bus transfer:

Departure Vienna Musikverein, corner Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse: 90 minutes before the concert begins

Return from Grafenegg: approx. 15 minutes after the end of the concert

Journey time approx. 55 min


  • Johannes Brahms – Vier ernste Gesänge op.121
  • Gustav Mahler – Revelge (from 'Des Knaben Wunderhorn')
  • Gustav Mahler – “Wo die schönen Trompeten blasen”, from "Des Knaben Wunderhorn"
  • Gustav Mahler – «Lied des Verfolgten im Turm» aus «Des Knaben Wunderhorn»
  • Gustav Mahler – Der Schildwache Nachtlied (from Des Knaben Wunderhorn)
  • Gustav Mahler – “Rheinlegendchen”, from Des Knaben Wunderhorn
  • Gustav Mahler – «Zu Straßburg auf der Schanz» aus «Lieder und Gesänge aus der Jugendzeit»
  • Gustav Mahler – Urlicht (from 'Des Knaben Wunderhorn')
  • Johannes Brahms – 'Geheimnis,' Op. 71, No. 3
  • Johannes Brahms – 'Verzagen,' Op. 72, No. 4
  • Johannes Brahms – «Auf dem Kirchhofe» aus «Fünf Lieder», op. 105 Nr. 4
  • Johannes Brahms – «Lerchengesang» op. 70/2
  • Johannes Brahms – «Wie bist du meine Königin» aus «Neun Lieder und Gesänge», op. 32 Nr. 9
  • Johannes Brahms – «Mondenschein» op. 85/2
  • Johannes Brahms – «Entführung» aus «Lieder für eine Singstimme mit Begl. d. Pianoforte», op. 73 Nr. 3
Program is subject to change


Piano: Daniel Heide
Baritone: Andrè Schuen


Transfer to Grafenegg from Vienna Musikverein, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Ecke Bösendorferstraße/Canovagasse, Grafenegg, Austria — Google Maps

Gift card