• Smetana Hall, Municipal House of Prague
  • North Czech Philharmony Teplice

Dvořák's New World Symphony in Prague

Prague, Municipal House (Obecní dum) — Smetana Hall

Seating plan Best seats  2 h  Instant e-Ticket Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price

About the Event

Hear the classical music performance of a lifetime at Prague's Municipal House Obecní dum for an unforgettable concert highlighting Symphony No. 9 , 'From the New World' by Dvořák.

Antonín Dvořák
Antonin Dvorak is considered to be one of the most well‐known and prominent Czechs in the world, as his musical work gained international recognition already during his lifetime. He was born in 1841 in a small Czech village into a butcher’s family. At the age of 6, Dvorak started taking violin lessons and it immediately became obvious that the boy had exceptional talent in music. Later in life, he was learning to master piano and organ as well as simultaneously working in a slaughterhouse. After Dvorak turned 16, he was admitted to the Organ School in Prague that trained future professional composers. After graduating, he stayed in Prague, joined Karel Komzak’s orchestra and started actively composing his own music. However, he struggled to make ends meet and always had to work on the side by playing music in churches and giving private music lessons.
Finally, 1874 became a turning point in his life when he won a financial grant from an Austrian Prize competition for his 15 submitted works. This allowed him to quit the orchestra and devote himself fully to composing. During this period, he wrote his Slavonic Dances, Moravian Duets and Violin Concerto, which brought him sweeping success. In 1892 he was invited to teach at the New York National Conservatory, where he stayed until 1895 before returning home. He started teaching at the Prague conservatory and later became its director. Until his death in 1904, he had been a successful and well‐loved composer, both in his homeland and around the whole world.


  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus – Concerto No.1 for flute and orchestra, G dur, K 313
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Felix – Concerto for violin and orchestra e moll
  • Dvořák, Antonín – Symphony No.9 E minor „From the New World“
Program is subject to change


Orchestra: North Czech Philharmony Teplice

Based in the historic spa town of Teplice, the North Czech Philharmonic Teplice is among the oldest orchestras in Europe. The orchestra has performed in concert halls and at festivals throughout Europe, and often joined by internationally renowned soloists.

Conductor: Kornienko, Alexei
Flute: Choi, Yongjae
Violin: Askin, Cihat


Municipal House (Obecní dum), 5 Republic Square (Namesti republiky 5), Prague, Czech Republic — Google Maps

Gift card