The Coselpalais is located in the heart of the city of Dresden. Right beside the world‐famous Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady), the building borders the former Armoury and fortifications, and its cellar is home to the impressive ruins of the former Powder Tower (Pulverturm). Incorporating the foundation walls, the Chief State Master Builder, Johann Christoff Knöffel, built two stately residences on the site of the current Coselpalais in 1745/46, which were razed to the ground in 1760 by Prussian artillery fire during the Seven Years’ War.
In 1853, title to the building was transferred to the State of Saxony, and it was converted to a Headquarters for the Royal Police. During the devastating night‐time bombing in February 1945, the Coselpalais was destroyed along with the Frauenkirche and much of the historic old town.
However, the gate lodges were preserved. 53 years later, in October 1998, the foundation stone for the modern Coselpalais was laid. Today, the Coselpalais is home to the Grand Café & Restaurant on the ground floor, which serves excellent Franco‐German cuisine, both indoors and on its cosy terrace in the baroque court of honour.
From here, you can enjoy the unique view of Dresden’s world‐famous Frauenkirche, and the rococo putti (statues of angelic child‐like figures) on sandstone columns, created by master sculptor G. Knöffler.
Coselpalais Dresden, An der Frauenkirche 12, 01067 Dresden, Germany, Google Maps