Trusted Shops badge
  • (c) CNSO s.r.o
    © CNSO s.r.o

Czech National Symphony Orchestra: Dvorák & Smetana

Prague, Municipal House (Obecní dum) — Smetana Hall

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 41

About the Event

Tonight's concert presents the famous works of Czech composers Bedřich Smetana and Antonín Dvořák, combined with a popular Romantic violin concerto.

Bedřich Smetana, known for his opera cycle Má vlast (My Country), composed the first two symphonic poems, Vyšehrad and Vltava, within a short period of time in 1874. Despite being completely deaf, he completed Vltava in just 19 days. The following year, he added two more poems, Šárka and From Bohemia's Woods and Fields. Three years later, he finalized the cycle with Tábor and Blaník, dedicating it to the beloved city of Prague. The complete Má vlast cycle premiered in 1882 and became a symbol of national self‐awareness, with Vltava remaining the most popular piece.

Max Bruch, a German composer, wrote three violin concertos, with Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26 being the most well‐known. Initially written in 1866, it underwent significant revisions and was premiered in 1868 with the renowned Joseph Joachim as the soloist. The concerto quickly gained popularity, although Bruch was disappointed that it overshadowed his other works.

Antonín Dvořák's Symphony No. 9 in E minor, "From the New World," Op. 95, had its premiere in Carnegie Hall, New York, in 1893. Written during his time in the United States, along with a string quartet and string quintet, this symphony marked a significant triumph for Dvořák. Inspired by his new environment, financial independence, and his role as a Czech Music ambassador, Dvořák expressed his love for his homeland and joy for life in the symphony. The "New World Symphony" is now his most performed work, with the second movement, Largo, being particularly popular and universally recognized.

Therefore, tonight's concert brings together the timeless compositions of Smetana and Dvořák, complemented by Bruch's celebrated violin concerto, showcasing the enduring appeal and undeniable musical greatness of these works.


  • Bedrich Smetana – ,,Vltava“ — from cycle Má vlast
  • Max Bruch – Concerto for violin and orchestra No 1 in G minor, op. 26
  • Antonín Dvořák – Symphony No. 9 , 'From the New World'
Program is subject to change

Cast / Production

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Steven Mercurio, conductor
Chloë Hanslip, violin


Municipal House (Obecní dum), 5 Republic Square (Namesti republiky 5), Prague, Czech Republic — Google Maps

Gift card