• © Concertgebouw

Concertgebouw Orchestra performs composers of the Main Hall balconies with Fischer

Amsterdam, Concertgebouw — Main Hall

Best seats Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price

About the Event

The Concertgebouworkest and soprano Anna Prohaska perform music by Dvorak, Bartok, Strauss and others under the baton of Iván Fischer in the prestigious Concertgebouw.

The musical history of the Concertgebouw and the orchestra comes to life when Iván Fischer conducts works by all seventeen composers whose names adorn the balconies.

Practical Information

Slavische dans in B, nr. 1 (from 'Slavonic Dances', op. 72)

Intermezzo interrotto: Allegretto (from 'Concerto for Orchestra', Sz. 116)

Con moto e con delicatezza (from 'Symphonietta humoristica')

R. Strauss
Ich wollt’ ein Sträusslein binden, nr. 2 (from 'Sechs Lieder', op. 68)

Humoreske (from 'Symphony No. 7' 'Zuiderzee')

Danse profane, nr. 2 (from 'Danse sacrée et danse profane', L 103)

Clair de lune (from 'Cinq mélodies')

Deel 1: Le Jardin d'Éros, nr. 3 (from 'Psyché')


Scherzo: Presto (from 'Symfonie in d' 'Nulde')

prelude (from 'Gijsbrecht van Aemstel suite')

Trepak (Russische Dans), nr. 5 (from 'The Nutcracker', op. 71)

J. Wagenaar
Allegro marciale (from 'Sinfonietta')

Maria Wiegenlied, op. 76/52

La flûte enchantée (from 'Shéhérazade')

Molto tranquillo, nr. 3 (from 'Zes symfonische epigrammen')

Allegro assai, nr. 4 (from 'Zes symfonische epigrammen')

Scherzo à la russe


Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

The 'Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra' is a symphony orchestra of international renown, whose character has been shaped by several generations of musicians, longstanding collaboration with each of the six chief conductors, and the unique acoustic properties of the Concertgebouw’s main hall.

The Orchestra has gained its unique international position with its ‘velvet’ strings, ‘golden’ brass and the exceptional and personal timbre of the woodwinds. The musicians are the guardians of the playing culture that gives the Orchestra its unique sound and flexibility. The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra consists of 120 virtuosos who perform together at the highest level.

During the fifty years of Willem Mengelberg’s reign, a wide variety of composers such as Richard Strauss, Gustav Mahler, Claude Debussy and Igor Stravinsky conducted the Concertgebouw Orchestra several times. Celebrities such as Béla Bartók, Sergey Rachmaninoff and Sergey Prokofiev performed their own works as soloists. This crucial bond with contemporary composers was continued with Bruno Maderna, Peter Schat, Luciano Berio, Hans Werner Henze, Luigi Nono and John Adams, and is still RCO policy.

Conductor: Fischer, Ivan

Ivan Fischer is one of the world's most sought‐after conductors. Chief Conductor of the Konzerthausorchester Berlin since the 2012/13 season, he was the founder of the Budapest Festival Orchestra in 1983, and he enjoys a close partnership with the Vienna State Opera. Ivan Fischer has won numerous awards, and he has performed in practically every major concert house in the world.

Soloist: Prohaska, Anna



Concertgebouw, Concertgebouwplein, 10, Amsterdam, Netherlands — Google Maps

Gift card