Trusted Shops badge

Beethoven’s Triple Concerto at Palau de la Musica

Barcelona, Palau de la Música Catalana — Concert Hall

Seating plan Best seats  Instant e-Ticket Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price
$ 72

About the Event

In this highly‐anticipated concert, hear the mellifluous sounds of classical music by Ludwig van Beethoven and Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky at Barcelona's treasured and world‐renowned Palau de la Música Catalana.

The Ludwig Trio, composed of pianist Hyo‐Sum Lim and brothers Abel and Arnau Tomàs, both also founding members of the renowned Casals Quartet, is currently considered the most outstanding ensemble of its kind in Spain. We could not ask for better hands for this performance of one of Beethoven's most beautiful works, the Triple Concerto for violin, cello, piano and orchestra.

In addition, Tomàs Grau will also conduct Tchaikovsky's first symphony, Winter Dreams. This lively, expressive and atmospheric work clearly reveals the composer's taste and talent for melodies and emotions.


  • Ludwig van Beethoven – Triple concerto for violin, cello, piano and orchestra, Op. 56
  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 1, Op. 13 ‘Winter Dreams’
Program is subject to change


Conductor: Tomàs Grau

Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of Tarragona’s Orquestra Camera Musicae (OCM)

Ensemble: Trio Ludwig
Orchestra: Franz Schubert Filharmonia

Palau de la Música Catalana

The Palau de la Musica Catalana is a dazzling building situated in the northern part of Barcelona's Old Town. An architectural jewel of the Catalan Art Nouveau style, built between 1905 and 1908, its rich interior displays the work of the region's artisans in the form of stained-glass windows, ceramics, sculptures, paintings and blacksmithing. The extensive use of glass in the construction of the venue creates stunningly radiant interiors. The dusty red facade of the Palau is decorated with busts of great composers including Bach, Beethoven and Wagner, and colorful mosaics in floral patterns. The centre of the Palau is the magnificent concert hall, entirely lit by natural sunlight due to the extraordinary skylight in the centre of the richly ornate ceiling, which is popular for symphonic and chamber music. According to Lluís Domènech i Montaner, the architect who designed the Palau, the aim was to create a “garden for music” – an objective he definitely managed to achieve.

Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven was a German pianist and composer of the late 18th century. He is well known as the most influential composers of all time as well as crucial figure to the Classical music scene. In fact, he demonstrated his musical talent at an early age, taking lessons from his father and composer/conductor Christian Gottlob Neefe. Later, he moved to Vienna where he gained the reputation of a virtuoso pianist by composing his popular masterpieces. He created his most admired works in his last 15 years of life, all the while being almost completely deaf.

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Symphony No. 6, written in 1893, is Tchaikovsky’s last symphony which he considered his finest work. Its nickname ‘Pathetique’ suggests that the work contains deep and profound contemplations about life and death. Its music is dark and solemn with the exception of the second waltz movement. Many critics saw this symphony as an authobiographical expression of the composer’s uneasy life. The 6th Symphony premiered on 28 October 1893 and was given good reviews but didn’t make a sensation. Nine days later the composer died. After his death the symphony was performed once again at the tribute concert and that time, the audience was deeply touched by the poignant music and gave proper credit to it.


Palau de la Música Catalana, c/ Palau de la Música, 4‐6, Barcelona, Spain — Google Maps

Gift card