NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo


Japan's first professional orchestra, founded as the New Symphony Orchestra in 1925. Later known as the Japan Symphony Orchestra, the group took its present name in 1951, after receiving financial support from NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation). Performing in numerous halls, including the NHK Hall, Suntory Hall, and the Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall, the present chief conductor is Paavo Järvi, with André Previn, Tadaki Otaaka, Herbert Blomstedt, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Charles Dutoit, and Vladimir Ashkenzay all having strong historical ties to the orchestra.

There are currently no event dates available.

Gift card