Ensemble Modern


Ensemble Modern is a chamber ensemble dedicated to the music of modern composers. Formed in 1980, the group is based in Frankfurt, Germany and made up variously of about twenty members from numerous countries.

Ensemble Modern tour widely and have released many recordings, performing works by such composers as Charles Ives, Olivier Messiaen, Kurt Weill, Edgard Varèse, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Conlon Nancarrow, Steve Reich, George Benjamin, Frank Zappa, Anthony Braxton, Heiner Goebbels and many others. They are highly regarded for their ability to play difficult music with complex rhythms and tempi. In 2003 the group received an ECHO.

There are currently no event dates available.

Gift card