• (c) Camera Musicae SLU

‘Lobgesang’ de Mendelssohn at Palau de la Musica Catalana

Barcelona, Palau de la Música Catalana — Main Hall

Best seats  Instant e-Ticket Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price

About the Event

In this highly‐anticipated concert, hear the mellifluous sounds of classical music by Mendelssohn Bartholdy and Vivancos at Barcelona's treasured and world‐renowned Palau de la Música Catalana.

The Franz Schubert Filharmonia will close the season with one of the most spectacular works in the repertoire, Mendelssohn's Symphony No. 2 'Lobgesang'. A symphony full of colours, triumphant and optimistic moments and also some of the most moving and moving melodies in the history of music. The Franz Schubert Filharmonia thus celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Coral Carmina, one of the most prestigious choral institutions in the country.

Palau de la Música Catalana
The Palau de la Musica Catalana is a dazzling building situated in the northern part of Barcelona's Old Town. An architectural jewel of the Catalan Art Nouveau style, built between 1905 and 1908, its rich interior displays the work of the region's artisans in the form of stained‐glass windows, ceramics, sculptures, paintings and blacksmithing. The extensive use of glass in the construction of the venue creates stunningly radiant interiors. The dusty red facade of the Palau is decorated with busts of great composers including Bach, Beethoven and Wagner, and colorful mosaics in floral patterns.

The centre of the Palau is the magnificent concert hall, entirely lit by natural sunlight due to the extraordinary skylight in the centre of the richly ornate ceiling, which is popular for symphonic and chamber music. According to Lluís Domènech i Montaner, the architect who designed the Palau, the aim was to create a “garden for music” – an objective he definitely managed to achieve.


  • Vivancos, Bernat – Commissioned work (premiere)
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Felix – Symphony No. 2, op. 52 ‘Lobgesang’
Program is subject to change


Orchestra: Franz Schubert Filharmonia
Soprano: Haller, Ulrike
Soprano: Jordana, Mar
Tenor: Padullés, Roger
Choir: Coral Càrmina
Conductor: Mestre, Daniel


Palau de la Música Catalana, c/ Palau de la Música, 4‐6, Barcelona, Spain — Google Maps

Gift card