• (c) Palau de la Música Catalana
  • (c) Palau de la Música Catalana (new)

Palau de la Música Catalana: L'Orfeo de Monteverdi

Barcelona, Palau de la Música Catalana — Concert Hall

Best seats  Instant e-Ticket Give as a gift card

Select tickets

Total Price

About the Event

Experience classical music like never before in this astonishing performance of masterworks by Monteverdi at Barcelona's remarkable Palau de la Música Catalana.

Claudio Monteverdi

Monteverdi’s unique artistic legacy marks the transition of musical traditions from Renaissance to Baroque. Born in 1567 in Cremona, Italy, Claudio Monteverdi showed his talent at an early age. Already in 1582 his first work, a set of motets, was published in Venice. By 1590 he became a famous composer in Italy and a musician to the court of Duke Vincenzo I Gonzaga of Mantua where he made acquaintances with prominent painters, composers and writers of the time. In 1607 his first opera, L’Orpheo, was staged in Mantua and was a sweeping success. Even today this passionate and expressive opera is frequently performed worldwide. The following year his second opera L’Arianna followed, again receiving public acclaim. Unfortunately, only a piece from this opera L'Arianna has survived until present day.
After the death of Duke Vincenzo, Monteverdi did not wish to serve in the court anymore and moved to Venice where he was appointed as a maestro di cappella at San Marco Cathedral. There he managed the choir and composed sacred music. In the 1630’s Monteverdi’s world was severely disturbed by the outbreak of the plague in Venice leading to more than 45000 casualties. However, 1637 is marked as a revival both of the city and the composer’s work: that year saw the opening of the magnificent opera house of San Cassiano, for which Monteverdi composed a few successful operas up until his death in 1643.


  • Monteverdi, Claudio – L'Orfeo, favola in musica (opera in five acts). Booklet by Alessandro Striggio the Younger
Program is subject to change


Conductor: Halsey, Simon
Conductor: Biondi, Fabio

Ensemble: Europa Galante

Choir: Cor de Cambra del Palau de la Música Catalana

Conductor: Puig, Xavier

Soprano: Invernizzi, Roberta
Soprano: Piccinini, Monica
Alto: Liso, Marina de
Countertenor: Mineccia, Filippo
Tenor: Bostridge, Ian
Tenor: Buzza, Valentino
Baritone: Marsiglia, Francesco


Palau de la Música Catalana, c/ Palau de la Música, 4‐6, Barcelona, Spain — Google Maps

Gift card